History and Funding

Eastholme opened in November 1967 with 74 beds and underwent renovations in 1987 with the addition of a third floor. In March 2001 a new addition for 30 new long-term care beds was completed and an additional 24 new beds were added in November 2004 to bring the total number of long-term care beds to128. As well, the original 74 beds were redeveloped to the new design standards between 2002 to 2004. Eastholme is now a Category “A” home meeting the new design standards of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

Eastholme operates under the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 and is vested in a seven-member Board of Management. Five members are appointed by the fourteen participating municipalities in the District of Parry Sound (East) and two members are appointed by the Province.

Support for Eastholme has been provided by the North East Local Health Integration Network (NE LHIN) and the Government of Ontario.

Funding is also provided by a municipal levy which is apportioned to the following 14 Municipalities in the District of Parry Sound (East) :

Municipality of PowassanMunicipality of Callander
Township of NipissingVillage of South River
Village of SundridgeTownship of Machar
Township of JolyMunicipality of Magnetawan
Township of StrongVillage of Burk’s Falls
Township of ArmourTown of Kearney
Township of PerryTownship of Ryerson